SOUTH CAROLINA REVENUE AND FISCAL AFFAIRS OFFICE

STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED FISCAL IMPACT
WWW.RFA.SC.GOV * (803)734-3793

This fiscal impact statement is produced in compliance with the South Carolina Code of Laws and House and Senate rules. The focus of
the analysis is on governmental expenditure and revenue impacts and may not provide a comprehensive summary of the legislation.

Bill Number: H. 3430  Signed by Governor on May 12, 2025

Subject: Tort Reform and Liquor Liability
Requestor: House of Representatives

RFA Analyst(s): Bryant

Impact Date: June 5, 2025

Fiscal Impact Summary

This bill makes changes to Chapter 38, Title 15, which is the South Carolina Contribution
Among Tortfeasors Act. The bill also adds Chapter 3 to Title 61 to require an individual
employed as an alcohol server or manager to complete alcohol server training and to obtain an
alcohol server certificate. The bill tasks the Department of Revenue (DOR) with the
responsibility to approve alcohol server training programs offered by providers and specifies that
DOR may collaborate with the Department of Behavioral Health and Development Disabilities
(DBHDD) and the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) to determine appropriate
providers. DOR must also issue an alcohol server certificate to each applicant who completes an
approved program or recertification program. Additionally, the bill specifies that SLED and
DOR are responsible for enforcing the provisions of the bill.

This bill also creates new penalties for violations of certain prohibited acts by the holder of a
permit or license authorizing the sale of beer or wine. Additionally, the bill requires DOR to
develop and implement an alternate revenue and penalty structure for collegiate sporting venues
by August 31, 2025. The bill further provides the director of the Department of Insurance (DOI)
must prepare and submit a report regarding the status of commercial general liability and liquor
liability markets by January 31st of each year. The bill also allows a captive insurance company
to apply for a license to provide liquor liability insurance and changes the requirement that a
person licensed or permitted to sell alcoholic beverages must maintain a liquor liability insurance
policy or a general liability insurance policy with a liquor liability endorsement for a total
coverage of at least $1 million to coverage with an annual aggregate limit of at least $1 million
during the period of the biennial permit or license unless the licensee or permittee qualifies under
the terms of a liquor liability risk mitigation program.

DOR indicates that this bill will increase expenses by an amount up to $405,000 per year
beginning in FY 2025-26. Of this amount, $300,000 is for 4.0 FTEs (one supervisor and three
staff), including salary and fringe benefits, to administer the provisions of the bill. The remaining
$105,000 is for current staff to manage additional duties. DOR also indicates that the department
will need to make system updates and form changes to implement and manage the alcohol server
training program but reports that this will be handled through existing appropriations and
processes.
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This bill will have no expenditure impact on DBHDD. The department indicates that it can
manage the provisions of the bill with existing appropriations. For reference, DBHDD is
comprised of the Department of Mental Health, the Department of Disabilities and Special
Needs, and the Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services pursuant to Act 3 of
2025.

This bill will have no expenditure impact on SLED. The agency indicates that it can manage the
provisions of the bill with existing staff and appropriations.

The Administrative Law Court (ALC) anticipates that the initial impact of the bill on the Court’s
caseload will likely be minimal and can be managed with existing resources. However, ALC
reports that if there is a significant increase in the number of contested case hearings, the Court
will require a General Fund appropriations increase.

DOI anticipates that it can manage the provisions of the bill with existing appropriations.
However, DOI reports that if reporting requirements significantly increase its workload, the
department may request a General Fund appropriations increase for 1.0 FTE to assist with
preparing and submitting the required reports.

This bill requires DOR to develop and implement an alternate revenue and penalty structure for
collegiate sporting venues by August 31, 2025, which may increase General Fund revenue.
However, the amount of the increase will depend upon the revenue and penalty structure
developed by DOR, as well as the number of penalties that may occur. This bill may also
increase General Fund revenue due to the creation of a new $2,500 fine for a first violation of
Section 61-4-580 by the holder of a license or permit authorizing the sale of beer or wine.
However, the number of licensees or permittees who may commit a violation is currently
unknown. Therefore, the overall General Fund revenue impact is undetermined.

This bill may increase Other Funds revenue of ALC due to an increase in filing fees collected in
court. Currently, a request for a contested case hearing regarding an alcoholic beverage license
violation must be accompanied by a non-refundable filing fee of $150. However, the amount of
the increase will depend upon the number of requests for a contested case hearing filed with the
Court. Due to a lack of historical data, the overall Other Funds revenue impact from filing fees
for a contested case hearing is, therefore, undetermined.

The bill also specifies that a captive insurance company may apply for a license for liquor
liability insurance. DOI indicates that it is unknown at this time whether this provision will
increase insurance premium taxes as any impact will depend on whether captive insurance
companies write liquor liability policies. Further, the bill changes the requirement that a person
licensed or permitted to sell alcoholic beverages must maintain a liquor liability insurance policy
or a general liability insurance policy with a liquor liability endorsement for a total coverage of
at least $1 million to coverage with an annual aggregate limit of at least $1 million during the
period of the biennial permit or license unless the licensee or permittee qualifies under the terms
of a liquor liability risk mitigation program. DOI indicates that this bill may affect the number of
insurance premiums written and, therefore, may impact insurance premium tax revenue.
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However, DOI reports that it is unable to estimate how or to what degree insurance premium
taxes will be affected.

Explanation of Fiscal Impact

Signed by Governor on May 12, 2025

State Expenditure

This bill makes changes to Chapter 38, Title 15, which is the South Carolina Contribution
Among Tortfeasors Act. The bill also adds Chapter 3 to Title 61 to require an individual
employed as an alcohol server or manager to complete alcohol server training and to obtain an
alcohol server certificate. A permittee or licensee must maintain copies of the alcohol server
certificates for the permittee or licensee, managers, and alcohol servers for the duration of their
employment, and the certificates must be made available to DOR, SLED, or their agents and
employees upon request. The bill tasks DOR with the responsibility to approve alcohol server
training programs offered by providers and specifies that DOR may collaborate with DBHDD
and SLED to determine appropriate providers. DOR, in collaboration with DBHDD and SLED,
may also suspend or revoke the authorization of a provider that violates the provisions of this
Chapter.

DOR must issue an alcohol server certificate to each applicant who completes an approved
program or recertification program and who provides other information as may be required by
DOR in an application form that must be made available on the department's website. Alcohol
server certificates are valid for a period of three years from the date the certificate is issued. After
the three-year period, a new or recertified alcohol server certificate must be obtained. DOR may
not charge a fee to issue and renew alcohol server certificates for qualifying applicants.
Additionally, the bill specifies that SLED and DOR are responsible for enforcing the provisions
of the bill, and DOR is responsible for bringing administrative actions for any violations.
Contested case hearings arising under these provisions will be heard by ALC.

This bill also provides that a permittee or licensee who violates any provision of Section 61-4-
580 regarding prohibited acts by the holder of a permit or license authorizing the sale of beer or
wine will be fined $2,500 by DOR for a first offense. For a second offense within two years of
the first offense, the licensee or permittee shall have its alcohol license or permit suspended for
up to fourteen days as determined by DOR. For a third offense within three years of the first
offense, the licensee or permittee shall have its alcohol license or permit revoked. The bill also
requires DOR to develop and implement an alternate revenue and penalty structure for collegiate
sporting venues by August 31, 2025.

Additionally, the bill requires the director of DOI to prepare and submit a report regarding the
status of commercial general liability and liquor liability markets by January 31° of each year.
The bill provides that a captive insurance company may apply to the director of DOI for a license
to provide insurance, including without limitation, liquor liability insurance. However, it may not
issue eroding or declining insurance coverage in which the occurrence or aggregate limits are
reduced by costs or expenses arising from the insurance company’s duty to defend a claim. The
bill also requires a person licensed or permitted to sell alcoholic beverages to maintain a liquor
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liability insurance policy or a general liability insurance policy with a liquor liability
endorsement with an annual aggregate limit of at least $1 million during the period of the
biennial permit or license unless the licensee or permittee qualifies under the terms of a liquor
liability risk mitigation program.

Lastly, the bill provides that certain entities licensed or permitted to sell alcoholic beverages for
on-premises consumption may qualify for a liquor liability risk mitigation program to lower the
required liability insurance amount. An entity may qualify for the program if all employees who
serve alcohol complete alcohol server training and obtain an alcohol server certificate. The
business may also qualify for reduced liability insurance if certain operating conditions, such as
stopping alcohol sales earlier, are met.

Department of Revenue. DOR indicates that this bill will increase expenses by an amount up to
$405,000 per year beginning in FY 2025-26. Of this amount, $300,000 is for 4.0 FTEs (one
supervisor and three staff), including salary and fringe benefits, to administer the provisions of
the bill. The remaining $105,000 is for current staff to manage additional duties. DOR also
indicates that the department will need to make system updates and form changes to implement
and manage the alcohol server training program but reports that this will be handled through
existing appropriations and processes.

Department of Behavioral Health and Development Disabilities. This bill will have no
expenditure impact on DBHDD. The department indicates that it can manage the provisions of
the bill with existing appropriations.

State Law Enforcement Division. This bill will have no expenditure impact on SLED. The
agency indicates that it can manage the provisions of the bill with existing staff and
appropriations.

Administrative Law Court. ALC anticipates that the initial impact of the bill on the Court’s
caseload will likely be minimal and can be managed with existing resources. However, ALC
reports that if there is a significant increase in the number of contested case hearings, the Court
will require a General Fund appropriations increase.

Department of Insurance. DOI anticipates that it can manage the provisions of the bill with
existing appropriations. However, DOI reports that if reporting requirements significantly
increase its workload, the department may request a General Fund appropriations increase for 1.0
FTE to assist with preparing and submitting the required reports.

State Revenue

This bill requires DOR to develop and implement an alternate revenue and penalty structure for
collegiate sporting venues by August 31, 2025, which may increase General Fund revenue.
However, the amount of the increase will depend upon the revenue and penalty structure
developed by DOR, as well as the number of penalties that may occur. This bill may also
increase General Fund revenue due to the creation of a new $2,500 fine for a first violation of
Section 61-4-580 by the holder of a license or permit authorizing the sale of beer or wine.
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However, the number of licensees or permittees who may commit a violation is currently
unknown. Therefore, the overall General Fund revenue impact is undetermined.

This bill may increase Other Funds revenue of ALC due to an increase in filing fees collected in
court. Currently, a request for a contested case hearing regarding an alcoholic beverage license
violation must be accompanied by a non-refundable filing fee of $150. However, the amount of
the increase will depend upon the number of requests for a contested case hearing filed with the
Court. Due to a lack of historical data, the overall Other Funds revenue impact from filing fees
for a contested case hearing is, therefore, undetermined.

The bill also specifies that a captive insurance company may apply for a license for liquor
liability insurance. DOI indicates that it is unknown at this time whether this provision will
increase insurance premium taxes as any impact will depend on whether captive insurance
companies write liquor liability policies. Further, the bill changes the requirement that a person
licensed or permitted to sell alcoholic beverages must maintain a liquor liability insurance policy
or a general liability insurance policy with a liquor liability endorsement for a total coverage of
at least $1 million to coverage with an annual aggregate limit of at least $1 million during the
period of the biennial permit or license, unless the licensee or permittee qualifies under the terms
of a liquor liability risk mitigation program. DOI indicates that this bill may affect the number of
insurance premiums written and, therefore, may impact insurance premium tax revenue.
However, DOI reports that it is unable to estimate how or to what degree insurance premium
taxes will be affected.

Local Expenditure
N/A

Local Revenue
N/A

ol 4 fast

Frank A. Rainwater, Executive Director

DISCLAIMER: THIS FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT REPRESENTS THE OPINION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE Page 50f5
AGENCY OFFICIAL WHO APPROVED AND SIGNED THIS DOCUMENT. IT IS PROVIDED AS INFORMATION TO
THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY AND IS NOT TO BE CONSIDERED AS AN EXPRESSION OF LEGISLATIVE INTENT. H. 343 0



